Day 30: New Tetris Functions freeze, moveLeft, and moveRight

Day 30: New Tetris Functions freeze, moveLeft, and moveRight

#100DaysOfCode Challenge

Today’s Progress:

Today I continued working building a basic Tetris game using JavaScript. I’ve been following the tutorial “Code Tetris: JavaScript Tutorial for Beginners” taught by Ania Kubow. Today I added functions for freeze, moveLeft, and moveRight.

Thoughts:

I’m really enjoying this project because it’s showing me how various JS concepts were in action. A lot of the challenges on fCC and in other places are often done in isolation so it’s difficult for a beginner to understand how they work.

Also, I’ve noticed that a lot of examples will use a mathematical example (like creating a loop that adds 1 each time) but don’t always use a more practical example. Don’t get me wrong, as a mathematics teacher I enjoy seeing how the math works out, but more often than not a lot of these concepts will be used to create muliple div boxes for your grid in Tetris (just as a more concrete example).

Overall, I’m happy with the progress I made. And I’m happy I decide to look for extra resources to learn these concepts. When I got frustrated yesterday there was a small part of me that wanted to give up, but I’m grateful I persevered. I’m also glad I reached out for help on the freeCodeCamp Discord server when I got stuck.

https://github.com/ananfito/basic-tetris

You can read my full journal for #100DaysOfCode on GitHub