Day 43: Functional Programming, JavaScript DOM, and the Pomodoro Technique

Photo by Avin CP on Unsplash

Day 43: Functional Programming, JavaScript DOM, and the Pomodoro Technique

#100DaysOfCode Challenge

Today's Progress:

I completed the Functional Programming section of freeCodeCamp's JS course.

Next up is Intermediate Algorithm Scripting, then I'll start the certification projects.

I also read through a tutorial on how JavaScript DOM works and I read through some of MDN's accessibility guides for upcoming blog post on how improved the accessiblity of my portfolio site.

Quotes & Key Ideas:

  • DOM = Document Object Model
    • "The DOM is a Web API that allows developers to use programming logic to make changes to their HTML code. It's a reliable way to make changes that turn static websites into dynamic ones."
    • "querySelector is a method which accepts the exact CSS selector in a string and returns one element. ... If you wanted to use this approach to select and return more than one element, you can use querySelectorAll instead."
      • Similarly, we can use getElementByClassName, getElementById, getElementsByTagName to select elements. However, these are more restrictve than querySelector and querySelectorAll which are more general
  • Manipulation is the main purpose of DOM. It allows you to select the elements you want to work with to be able to add interactivity to your website.
  • There are two key concepts for understanding DOM manipulation: events and handlers:
    • events: An action performed by the user (e.g., click, swipe)
    • handlers: The triggered response to when an event is read
    • Responses are tied to each event and are monitored by event listeners such as the method addEventListener which takes two arguments (event, event handler)
      • Anatomy of an event: element.eventListenerMethod(event, eventHandler)
  • "The split method splits a string into an array of strings. It takes an argument for the delimiter, which can be a character to use to break up the string or a regular expression."
    • "Since strings are immutable, the split method makes it easier to work with them."
  • "The join method is used to join the elements of an array together to create a string. It takes an argument for the delimiter that is used to separate the array elements in the string"
  • "The every method works with arrays to check if every element passes a particular test. It returns a Boolean value - true if all values meet the criteria, false if not."
  • "The some method works with arrays to check if any element passes a particular test. It returns a Boolean value - true if any of the values meet the criteria, false if not." (This is another one I encountered while building the Tetris app - admittedly at the time I was a little confused at what it was, but today I'm glad I got another, clearer look at it)
  • "The arity of a function is the number of arguments it requires. Currying a function means to convert a function of N arity into N functions of arity 1."
    • "In other words, it restructures a function so it takes one argument, then returns another function that takes the next argument, and so on."
    • "This is useful in your program if you can't supply all the arguments to a function at one time."
  • "partial application can be described as applying a few arguments to a function at a time and returning another function that is applied to more arguments."

Thoughts:

I had a great study session today. I used the Pomodoro Technique to stay focus as well as to stay active - during each break I made sure to stand up, stretch, and walk around. I listened to the Battlestar Galactica song Prelude to War on repeat while I studied and then switched to Fight Night or Allegro during the breaks.

This was a new strategy I implemented today. I've noticed previously sometimes I don't always take a long enough break so by listening to a different (shorter) song on the break I made sure I was staying active for a sufficient amount of time.

Today's freeCodeCamp challenges on Functional Programming were at just the right level of difficulty (or perhaps things are starting to make sense). I was having fun working my way through the challenges; they were like little puzzles that needed to be solved.

Also, now that I've completed this section there's only one more section to complete until it's time to work on the certification projects. I'm really excited about this because while I find the challenges helpful, working on projects is where I think I learn the most.

References:

freecodecamp.org/ananfito

You can read my full journal for #100DaysOfCode on GitHub